Movies

That Awkward Moment… When We Saw That Awkward Moment

hr_That_Awkward_Moment_4There’s no way that I could lie and say that I wasn’t a fan of Zac Efron. High School Musical came out when I was twelve so I was sucked in at the right moment and have been watching 17 Again on repeat ever since. So there’s also no way that I could lie and say that I wasn’t overly excited to see his new movie, That Awkward Moment, that opened this weekend. One thing I can lie about? Enjoying it as much as I thought I would.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t awful, considering I’ve unfortunately sat through some pretty terrible movies. I’ve always been a fan of Zac’s work (and c’mon, at least his face), and I have to admit his comedic timing is usually pretty spot on. Alongside Michael B. Jordan, who I’ve been dying to see in Fruitvale Station, and Miles Teller, who was convincing in The Spectacular Now, I expected this to be predictable but enjoyable (especially having seen most of their hilarious promo for the flick). But, I was honestly pretty disappointed; predictable as you could have guessed, cheesy to a fault, vaguely uncomfortable dialogue. I laughed, sure, but mostly at the scenes everyone has already been familiar with from the trailer ( Teller getting hit by a taxi will never not be funny). They nailed a few one-liners but as a person who saw Hairspray three times in the theater, I’ll be waiting to see this one on TV.

And I’m disappointed. This won’t stop me from being first in line for Zac’s next movie Neighbors with Seth Rogen and certainly won’t make me any less of a fan, but it does always get me down when movies are so amped that you can’t help but be let down. I guess I should stop putting so much faith in romantic comedies, but that’s just me.

Standard

What do you think?

