TV

You Should Probably Give MTV’s Teen Wolf a Chance

I know what you’re thinking. Teen Wolf looks like the most ridiculous show you could have imagined. It has all the ingredients: supernatural creatures after the rise of Twilight and it’s a remake of a 80s movie that happens to be hosted by MTV. But hear me out when I say: it’s actually really good. I can’t deny that “cheesy teen TV” is one of my favorite genres. It took me about a month to fully catch up on eight seasons of One Tree Hill and I still refuse to watch the end of The OC‘s third season because Marissa can’t die! But I also can’t deny that when I first saw ads for Teen Wolf (you can’t escape them) I had absolutely zero interest. The concept is admittedly a bit ridiculous. A dorky 16 year old gets bitten by a werewolf, increasing his lacrosse skills as well as his stress level as he now essentially has to protect his town from evil. You feel like this tired tale has been done a million times before, and I get that. But this show is different. It’s scary, it’s funny, it’s honestly relatable, and it manages to do it all at once. Considering the fact that I’ve watched this week’s episode twice and am still hyped up about it, please listen to me when I say you really should be watching this show.

Most non-viewers seem to take issue with the acting and effects. And though its Monday night 10 PM time-slot on MTV may not give it away, I can assure you the cast does a good job working around the computer-generated monsters. Once you get past the fact that most of the cast were never actually “teens” during even the earliest episodes and the season 1 CGI will occasionally make you want to roll your eyes, you will actually start to care about these characters and the supernatural situations they find themselves in. I mean, its a werewolf wanting to commit suicide to save his friends outside of a haunted motel, and you’re weeping in front of your TV. And that’s what the cast has managed to do; take something seemingly ridiculous and make it interesting and believable. Best of the bunch is absolutely Dylan O’Brien, most recently seen in The Internship, who stars as sarcastic and heart breaking best-buddy Stiles.

ac4e12ac780d02e7d9563812ca018e7c

If I’m being honest, seeing random clips online of Stiles was the only reason I started to watch the show. I’m not just saying that because he’s cute (which he is), because more importantly he’s talented. Like the “have you cracking up one second and in tears the next, on the edge of your seat in disbelief that acting this good could be on a show called Teen Wolf” kind of talented. Dylan is actually really impressive to watch considering he’s just two years older than me, and is in general just the type of person you want to watch on TV all day and then be best friends with. Really, its scientific fact.

And don’t be turned away by the fact that all this seems to have been done before. First of all, there are no vampires (I feel like I need to point this out, because it’s all anybody ever asks me). There is no Edward Cullen vs. Jacob Black scenario here! Werewolves may seem boring at this point in pop-culture but the show manages to bring a lot of interesting mythology into each season; the South American murderer-killing Kanima, Celtic druids, Japanese kitsune. If the supernatural isn’t really your thing, thats fine too; episodes will pass without anyone actually “turning” into a wolf, and the latest season is more of a psychological thriller than anything relevant to the CW’s Supernatural. With the current tagline aptly being “Lose Your Mind,” I’m really just asking that people stop giving me weird looks when I mention this show before I start losing my mind. Teen Wolf is good. It’s not Breaking Bad, but give it a shot. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Standard

What do you think?

